The Arakan Human Rights and Development Organisation (AHRDO) is a non-profit, independent organisation formed on October 9, 2011. AHRDO is open for membership to all Arakanese people, regardless of their sex, colour, religion, or political affiliation, and works for the common good of the entire Arakanese population.
No.3, 4th Floor, Tha Yak Taw Street, San Chaung Township, Yangon
Phone: +959 3615 5434 Phone: +959 4931 1108
Thu, May 26, 2022

Language: English Burmese

Traditional Culture


Arakan has a rich traditional culture, largely characterised in its literature, music, dance and religious buildings. Evidence of early literature can be found in the region dating back to first century AD. It is believed that Rakha Wanna (Arakanese alphabet) evolved from the Brahmin languages of Northern India.


Traditional cultureArakan, the land of the great image, traditionally professes Theravada Buddhism. Almost 100% of the Arakanese are Buddhists and the religion is an important element of Arakanese nationality. It is believed that the Arakanese have been learning the teachings of Buddhism since Gautama Buddha visited Arakan during the reign of King Sanda Surira in the 6th century BC. There are hundreds of ancient pagodas, temples and shrines in Arakan State to this day, especially in the old capital, Mrauk-U.


The most famous of these works is the Mahamuni Buddha Image that is now in Mandalay in central Burma. The Buddha statue was taken from Kyauktaw Township in 1784 by King Bodawpaya as one of many spoils of war. It is 4 metres high, and the statue is made of bronze, weighing 6.5 tones. Archaeologists believe the image was probably cast during the reign of King Chandra Surya, who ascended the throne in AD 146, some 600 years after the Buddha actually passed away.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio

Please consider supporting our efforts.


Joomla Templates and Joomla Extensions by JoomVision.Com
A brief history of Arakan (Rakhine) State

A brief history of Arakan (Rakhine) State

27 December 2012 - 10785 Views

There have been four dynastic eras in the history of Arakan: Dhanyawaddy, Vesali, Laymro and Mrauk-U. The four dynastic eras spanned over 5,000 years and Arakan existed as an independent…

Communication and transportation

28 December 2012 - 6986 Views

Development Projects in Arakan State

28 December 2012 - 6894 Views

Environment and ecosystems

28 December 2012 - 6374 Views

Geography and political Status

28 December 2012 - 9542 Views

Health and education

28 December 2012 - 7026 Views

Militarisation & Human Rights abuse

28 December 2012 - 7302 Views

Modern day Arakan State

28 December 2012 - 8334 Views